Testimonials & Reviews

5/5

Family Addiction Specialist

Addiction Specialists located in Brooklyn and Manhattan, New York, NY

14 total reviews

Family Addiction Specialist always appreciates feedback from our valued patients. To date, we’re thrilled to have collected 14 reviews with an average rating of 5 out of 5 stars. Please read what others are saying about Family Addiction Specialist below, and as always, we would love to collect your feedback.

Ben G.
Submitted 07/18/21
When my family found Lin for me, I was in bad shape. My health was failing because I had been addicted to drugs for 15 years (adderall, benzos, ambien, more). I had gambled away millions of dollars. I was stuck in a failing marriage and close to being fired from my job. Over the past nine months, Lin has helped me fix all of this. It's hard to say exactly how she does it, but from the first time you speak with Lin you will realize she is special. Lin takes a deeply personal approach to therapy. Unlike therapists I've worked with in the past, Lin takes the time to learn the names and personalities of the characters in your life. With her unique form of empathy, she is able to spot the root of your addiction, regardless of how deeply knotted your life is. Better yet, Lin has the solutions to help you heal and she will be with you every step of the way. I remember when we met, I told her I didn't think it was possible to quit drugs after over a decade of addiction. Lin replied that this was OK, and she would do the work for me. That is physically impossible, but Lin proactively encouraged/nagged me through every twist and turn of my recovery. Ultimately, I think that knowing she was always there and had the right answers gave me the confidence I needed to get sober. My family and I are very glad to have found Lin.
Rudy L.
Submitted 07/08/21
Late in the evening on INDEPENDENCE Day holiday this week my partner called me while incapacitated behind the wheel of an idling vehicle parked on a street in Brooklyn. I was traveling out of state but had fortunately kept Family Addiction’s contact information from the past. I had little hope anyone would answer their phone at that time of evening on a holiday but miraculously Lin answered my call. I gave Lin the vicinity of the area along with vehicle description and color. Lin left her family celebration and within twenty five minutes found and rescued my partner. The only available detox center on that night was two hours away in NJ but Lin never hesitated completing her intervention mission even though she didn’t arrive back home until 1:35am. Operating in good faith without having received a retainer never stopped Lin’s dedication, high standard of care professionalism and unparalleled commitment to save our children’s mother will never be forgotten. Thank God for Lin Sternlicht!
M C.
Submitted 06/24/21
Lin is a God send. She provided guidance to help my family and I through some very challenging times dealing with substance abuse issues with a member in the family. She is very dedicated and is able to guide the member to overcome the dependance on prescription medication within a short timeframe. Her effective coaching sessions enable the member to overcome the dependance and is now leading a normal lifestyle. My family and I would like to express our thanks for her guidance and coaching to enable us to overcome these challenges.
S C.
Submitted 02/25/21
Lin and Aaron were a source of tremendous support for our family when we were struggling with substance abuse issues. Lin is talented, resourceful and fearless. Both Aaron and Lin are exemplars of commitment and professionalism.
Meghan P.
Submitted 01/03/21
I started seeing Lin for family related addiction issues, but realized I needed her for so much more. Her personalized, tailored approach to my issues was exactly what I needed. I'm forever grateful for the tools you have shared with me, and for how you challenged me (in the kindest most compassionate way) to work through certain feelings and emotions I was neglecting. Everyone needs Lin in their lives- thank you from the bottom of my heart.
Hirsh M.
Submitted 03/07/20
Total dedication and quality care in a warm and supportive environment. Helped our son find his passion and become a healthier and better version of himself, and also helped our entire family become more cohesive and improve our communication and overall relationship.
Dina G.
Submitted 02/04/20
Incredibly transformative experience for me and my family. Lin and Aaron are very thoughtful, warm, caring and experienced. They really went above and beyond to provide excellent care.
L. W.
Submitted 01/27/20
I used Lin for discernment counseling which helped a lot for both my husband and I to see each other's perspectives. I highly recommend Lin. She is so responsive and I never feel rushed or like she has somewhere else she has to be at a certain time. She gives her all!
L W.
Submitted 12/04/19
We came to Lin & Aaron because of a situation with our teenaged son but Lin helped our whole family be calmer and more peaceful and helped my son to also be calmer and more peaceful.
T E.
Submitted 09/24/19
I am so grateful for my path crossing with Lin. Over the course of the 13 weeks I've seen her, I've learned how knowledgable and skillful she is and I love that she gives concrete advice on how to move myself forward in my life as opposed to replaying scenarios of where I've been in the past. She is kind, caring and really does have your best interests at heart. Thank you so much, Lin for everything!
Jasen K.
Submitted 08/15/19
Lin and Aaron are excellent. I highly recommend working with them. They will change your life.
Jeremy G.
Submitted 07/25/19
Lin and Aaron were incredibly knowledgeable, insightful and empathic. They helped me resolve many issues and gave me the tools I needed to cope with my depression and anxiety, while also helping me work on my relationship issues with my wife. I felt supported, and was very happy with their services, especially being able to call or text them in times of need. They were very different from other therapists I worked with in the past in that they worked quickly and effectively, and I felt that they did not string me along, but rather wanted me to truly heal and not be dependent on their support.
Josh H.
Submitted 05/01/19
Aaron and Lin are amazing. Extremely knowledgeable, understanding, and professional. Highly recommended.
Loren P.
Submitted 05/01/19
LOVE your counseling and psychotherapy ideas and principles. Very knowledgeable and professional. Talk-the-talk and walk-the-walk. You will not be disappointed.